Fate Core Pregens: The Avengers

After discussing elements of Iron Man’s armor people began asking me to stat up other characters (even though I never actually wrote Iron Man’s stat block…). I think it’s time I rectified that, so I give you:

 avengers_logo

(Disclaimer: I borrowed from MHR for some of the aspects.)

The Invincible Iron Man
Aspects
High Concept: Armored Avenger
Trouble: Billionaire, Playboy, Philanthropist
Cutting Edge Tech
Hardheaded Futurist
Cybernetic Heart

Skills
Great (+4) Crafts
Good (+3) Resources, Lore
Fair (+2) Athletics, Fight, Shoot
Average (+1) Contacts, Physique, Provoke, Rapport

Stunts
Highly Advanced Prosthetic. While in the Iron Man armor, gain +2 overcome rolls for feats of strength using Physique.
Secondary Systems. You don’t ever have to spend a fate point to declare that you have the proper tools for a particular job using Crafts, even in extreme situations. This source of opposition is just off the table.
Gold-Titanium Alloy. Gain Armor: 2 while wearing the Iron Man armor.

Fate Accelerated Edition
Replace Skills and Stunts With:

Approaches
Good (+3) Flashy
Fair (+2) Clever, Forceful
Average (+1) Quick, Careful
Mediocre (+0) Sneaky

Stunts
“Because I have Cutting Edge Tech, I get a +2 when I Flashily Attack with my Iron Man armor.”

Captain America
Aspects
High Concept: Genetically Enhanced Super Soldier
Trouble: Man Out of Time
Lead By Example
Star Spangled Shield
The First Avenger

Skills
Great (+4) Fight
Good (+3) Athletics, Physique
Fair (+2) Rapport, Shoot, Will
Average (+1) Contacts, Drive, Empathy, Investigate

Stunts
Master Tactician. Use Fight in place of Lore to create advantages or overcome obstacles related to battlefield tactics.
Ricochet Shot. Reduce passive opposition on your Shooting attacks made with your Star Spangled Shield by 2.
Vibranium-Alloy Shield. Gain +2 to Athletics rolls to defend against Shooting attacks if you haven’t used your shield in a Shooting attack this exchange.

Fate Accelerated Edition
Replace skills and stunts with:

Approaches
Good (+3) Clever
Fair (+2) Forceful, Quick
Average (+1) Careful, Sneaky
Mediocre (+0) Flashy

Stunts
“Because I have a Star Spangled Shield, I get a +2 whenever I Forcefully Defend when I use my shield in close combat.”

The Mighty Thor
Aspects
High Concept: Asgardian God of Thunder
Trouble: Legendary Ego
Son of Odin
Mjiolnir
Righteous Warrior

Skills
Great (+4) Fight
Good (+3) Physique, Shoot
Fair (+2) Athletics, Provoke, Will
Average (+1) Lore, Notice, Rapport, Resources

Stunts
Asgardian Durability. Once per scene, you can spend a fate point to erase a mild consequence or reduce the severity of a moderate consequence to a mild consequence (if your mild consequence slot is free).
Powerful. Gain Weapon: 2 on attacks made with Mjiolnir.
Uru Metal. You can use Fight to defend against energy-based Shoot attacks.

Fate Accelerated Edition 
Replace skills and stunts with:

Approaches
Good (+3) Forceful
Fair (+2) Quick, Flashy
Average (+1) Clever, Sneaky
Mediocre (+0) Careful

Stunts
“Because I wield the power of Mjiolnir, I get +2 when I Forcefully Attack when I throw my hammer.

wallpaper_the_incredible_hulk_02

The Incredible Hulk
Aspects
High Concept: Green Goliath
Touble: Don’t Make Me Angry
Sarcastic Genius
Strongest One There Is
Man or Monster?

Skills
Great (+4) Physique
Good (+3) Athletics, Fighting
Fair (+2) Notice, Provoke, Shoot
Average (+1) Crafts, Empathy, Investigate, Lore

Stunts
Hulk Smash! Gain Weapon: 2 when you attack with your fists.
Puny Banner. When Bruce Banner is not the Hulk, he loses access to all of his Good and Great skills and gets +2 to Lore, Crafts and Investigate rolls.
Rage-Fueled Might. When you create an Angry-type of advantage, you gain an additional invocation of it.

Fate Accelerated Edition
Replace skills and stunts with:

Approaches
Good (+3) Forceful
Fair (+2) Flashy, Quick
Average (+1) Clever, Sneaky
Mediocre (+0) Careful

Stunts
“Because I’m the Strongest One There Is, I get +2 when I Forcefully Attack when I have an advantage indicating that I’m angry.”

Let’s be real. Those are the only ones we really care about, right?

16 Comments

      1. I don’t believe so. No one cares about Tony Stark, except that he’s Iron Man. The aspects record what he as an individual fairly well, and his skills are closer to a mechanic than an armored combat hero.

        If you remove the armor bits, he’s about as powerful and tough as a team of minions, which is consistent with what we see – in fact, he needs to create advantages with Crafts to invent gear in order to even take them out, if you go by what we see in IM3.

        Same reason I wouldn’t stat up Bruce Banner outside of the Hulk. Frankly, he’s a plot device and all around weakness at that point. An aspect to hint at it is enough for me.

        That’s not to say that you may not do it. But transformation gets sticky. I much prefer writing up the most powerful form and hinting at aspects that can be compelled to cripple the hero when their lesser forms crop up.

        Like

    1. I’m glad you like them. 🙂

      This was actually only a test to see what was possible in building heroes as starting characters. During the process of this, and the subsequent Justice League stat blocks, I found several issues in the core rules that would benefit from a slight change to get supers just right.

      After I finish my current work of fiction and the asian steampunk setting I’m developing, I’m planning on doing something “official” (meaning professional, but not Evil Hat “official”) with supers in Fate.

      That’s also conveniently after I’ll get my hands on the toolkit draft and see the options they recommend there. 😉

      Like

      Reply

  1. I realize I am three years later, but why isn’t there any notion of flight for iron man or Thor? Is it a part of their aspects?
    Sorry I’m a fate newby.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment